Dakar Rally: Impressive 14th Victory in a row for KTM

KTM14thDakarKTM factory rider Marc Coma sealed his fifth Dakar title and presented KTM with its fourteenth consecutive win in this off-road classic.

Marc Coma, rode to the final stage with a 17-minute lead over Goncalves however riders were unable to complete the 393km of the final stage into Buenos Aires after heavy rain made the track surface slippery and too dangerous. The race was halted and Coma, representing KTM, was declared the winner.

Coma tackled the Dakar with his usual passion and attention to detail, true to his belief that the only result that counts was that in the final day. He took victory in Stage 5 and was top three in six other stages. He also rode with care and prudence in the two marathon stages, nursing a damaged tire in the first and safely bringing his KTM 450 RALLY home across the salt flats of Bolivia in wet conditions that resulted in many riders having to exit the rally after salt clogged their engines and electronics.

The 2015 rally was an emotional roller coaster for the Red Bull KTM Factory Racing Team and the KTM-supported riders. The Dakar 2015 was indeed a battle of attrition. Of the 168 starters in the bikes division only 78 were on the starting line for the final run into Buenos Aires.

0 replies

Leave a Reply

Want to join the discussion?
Feel free to contribute!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *